My Visit with 826Chi – Writing Lab

Thank you 826Chi!  I had a great time presenting my drawing techniques to your writing lab class today.  I really enjoyed reading to the kids (and adults) and answering their questions.

Here are some of the questions I answered today:

Q: Who is your favorite children’s book author?

A. Dr. Seuss

Q. What inspired you to write “The Adventures of the Salamander”?

A. I found the original story that I wrote when I was five years old in my mom’s attic.  I was very excited to find my old story, but when I read it, the ending was so bad, I had to write it all over again.

Q. What is your favorite illustration you drew for the books?

A. I really like the picture in which Slippy and Squeeks are running from the Earth-Wyrms.  I also really like all the maps.

Q. Are you writing any other books?

A. Yes, I am working on finishing “Return of the Mirms” the sequel to “The Adventures of the Salamander.”

I also really enjoyed the pink salamander drawing we worked on together, that was fun!

826_001 826_002 826_003 826_004
826CHI is a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting students ages 6 to 18 with their creative and expository writing skills, and to helping teachers inspire their students to write.

Visit the 826CHI Website

Leave a Reply

